top of page

How I Did Europe in 32 Days

Summer of 1999 my family and I flew over the great Atlantic Ocean for a 3 week European adventure! It was an incredibly memorable experience, even for my 9-year-old self. I still remember small and big things about it. Like walking the heart of London totally in awe at the architecture and grandeur of the Parliament building; zooming down the Switzerland Alps by slide; walking through Venice's fish market; getting attacked by the pigeons in St. Marks Square; skipping the staircase in Salzburg, Austria (from the movie, The Sound Of Music); and eating endless amounts of delicious pastries and gelato, and so much more. I became addicted to sleeping in cozy, cloud-filled down comforters, and drinking tea! Haha!

The fam at Neuschwanstein Castle, Germany

Fast-forward 10 years. I’m a freshman in college slaving away at school and trying to figure out the “adult life”. I began dreaming of Europe as I was inspired by my past experience and BBC shows and movies I had seen throughout the recent year. My desire went wild, and I was set on going in the near future.

Long story short, I postponed my dream for several years. I had things in my life that were stalling me from going and I FINALLY gave my dream the attention it absolutely deserved and began saving $$$.

August 13, 2016 I got on a plane and flew over that same great ocean just as I did 17 years earlier. In 32 days I travelled 10 countries, costing me no more than $5,000 and not a penny on credit. I’m writing this to share my experience, provide insight and travel tips for you!

First off, I highly recommend saving as much possible beforehand. I began saving a year prior to my trip and had enough to cover the necessary expenses, buy souvenirs and do some extra fun activities. I knew having the cash would put me at ease on travel spending, and in turn it did increase my enjoyment and decreased unneeded stress.

I began by establishing a percentage that would be pulled from every paycheck and put directly into savings. It wasn’t easy, especially when I made the quick decision to move out of my own apartment and back home at my parents abode just a couple months prior to leaving. This increased my savings incredibly in a short amount of time.

If this is important to you, having cash instead of putting your trip on credit, then start with a plan and stick to it. It's possible! I thought it wouldn't be for me, but I did it!

Second, be mindful of how long you want to travel. I chose 32 days, because one, I wanted the most out of my time and money getting myself to Europe and back. I would never travel that long again, but I purposely chose this duration, because I wanted to see several countries so I'd have a better idea of which places I’d return to and visit for a longer period.

Also, I planned everything for the first 21 days, and then my last 11 days I joined a tour group. I wanted to get a taste of both worlds, to see what fitted me best. I did learn that I enjoy doing my own thing traveling, but one thing about joining a tour group is you meet incredible people from all over the world! I now have personal connections in UK, Australia, Japan, and South Africa, etc! Also, it was extremely nice not having to get myself from point A to B. By the end, I was exhausted and it was enjoyable to be a passenger and not have that stress.

Third, find a travel buddy, whether that is a significant other, a family member, or a friend. I found a friend that wanted to travel similar European countries. I’m extremely independent and I would’ve done this trip alone, and happy to do so. But, having a travel buddy at times is very useful, like having a driving navigator, etc. I discovered from my experience it is important to go with someone you know very well, because traveling can be stressful at times, especially when unexpected bumps in the road come along.

~My Travel Route at a Glance~

1. Dublin, Ireland (rental car)

2. Cobh, Cork, Ireland

3. Dingle, Ireland

4. Cliffs of Moher, Co. Clare, Ireland

5. Galway, Ireland

6. Dublin, Ireland (flight)

7. Edinburgh, Scotland (flight)

8. Oslo, Norway (train)

9. Bergen, Norway (flight)

10. Oslo, Norway (flight)

11. Newcastle, UK (rental car)

12. The Lake Districts, UK

13. The Cotswolds, UK

14. Stourhead Gardens, UK

15. London, UK (bus tour)

16. North of Belgium, Netherlands

17. Amsterdam, Netherlands

18. St. Goar, Germany

19. Munich, Germany

20. Innsbruck, Austria

21. Venice, Italy

22. Lucern, Switzerland

23. Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

24. Paris, France

 

Travel Tips

1. Packing

I began putting together my packing list 5 weeks prior to departure. Before that though, I made the decision whether I was packing in a carryon or checked bag. Establishing this first sets the limit of "how much" to pack. Either one is a great option, but there are pros and cons to each depending on your vacation/adventure. On my adventure I chose to pack in a carryon bag for several reasons, and here they are:

a) Cost effective. Checking a bag can cost about $50 a flight. I calculated my 6+ flights and saved about $300+. Wow!

b) Zero anxiety. Having my luggage in the airline cabin near me was a huge relief! I knew if it was ever lost and/or tampered with I wouldn’t deal with it well, so this factor was a no brainer for me.

c) Pack light = happy traveler. I was constantly on the go and traveled somewhere new almost daily. Because I packed in a carryon, lugging my stuff around wasn't a huge pain, but very manageable “back packing” Europe!

What do I pack?

As it was difficult to pack light, I am sure glad I did! Rick Steve’s packing list was my packing guide. In addition I did research recommendations and also added a few extra things that made my life traveling a bit more easier and comfortable.

a) Travel sheet for comfortable sleeping. An absolute must for extended travel when sleeping in a variety of places. This was a huge comfort, and barrier from getting potential bed bugs. Click here for a great option.

b) Travel washing bag. If you are traveling longer then a week or so, a travel wash bag is the way to go. I packed minimal clothing and was able to do so because of my washing bag. I highly recommend this easy-to-use Scrubba Portable Washing Bag.

c) Packing cubes. This is a must for every traveler! Not only does it make packing SO much easier (I HATE packing), but it’s space efficient by compacting/condensing clothes, etc. I was able to fit more things in my carryon, which was a lifesaver for my 32 days of travel. Click here for a great option.

d) Travel sewing kit. For short or long travel, I would suggest packing one. I found this useful when my pants got a small hole, and a belt loop needed repairing. You never know if you’ll need it! Here's what I got.

e) Supplements & Essential Oils. Referring to a multi-vitamin/mineral complex & extra vitamin c supplements and immune booster oil. For high energy trips, this can make all the difference! I had a copious amount of daily energy and stayed healthy the entire time. Even if you are going on a restful vacation this can keep you healthy from air travel (hundreds of people and recycled air, yuck). *Side note- on my last 11 days of my trip, I stayed healthy traveling with a full bus of sick people. I definitely contribute staying healthy to this.

f) University Student I.D. (if you've got one). This may sound silly, but most tourist attractions and museums, etc. have student entry pricing. I saved somewhere around $50 total, and anywhere from $3-$10 for each entry. Every dollar counts! And, it's always smart to have a few I.D.s on ya when traveling internationally, you never know it may come in handy.

One last tip regarding carryon luggage, check the airports liquid guidelines you’ll be flying out of. Not every airport has the same rules regarding how much liquid total and sizing that is permitted. I got caught a few times, and it was pain!

2. Traveling - to and from & everywhere in between

Plane Travel

To Europe, I began researching flights 6 months in advance. Flying to certain cities in Europe was cheaper than others by a huge margin. I chose to fly to Dublin, Ireland because it was the cheapest find (about $650) and I planned on visiting there anyways so it worked in my favor.

Within Europe, Ryanair Airlines is the least expensive to fly. I spent anywhere from $25-$55 a flight. I will say this, you pay for what you get. I didn’t mind the crappy service and airline, because it was all part of the adventure and was within my budget!

From Europe to the United States. My last stop was in Paris, France. There are two airports here, and I found a decent flight home from Paris De Gaulle airport costing about $700. When mapping out your next travel adventure it may be smart to plan your last destination around a cheaper flight home.

Car Travel

I rented a car in both Ireland and England. I drove a lot of Ireland and England (refer to my travel route map above). If you are wanting to see more than the average traveler I highly suggest renting a car! If you choose so, full coverage insurance is a smart choice, especially Ireland because the roads are incredibly narrow and slim. You can find reasonable weekly prices, just requires a bit of research and planning several months in advance.

Train Travel

I chose to travel by train in Norway from Oslo to Bergen. It cost about $170, which a flight would have been about $85, but I wanted to “experience” Norway. During the Norway planning process I read this train ride is "Europe's best train journey" and made it an easy choice for me instead of another flight. I highly suggest switching up the methods of travel, to get a variety and enhance your experience!

3. Lodging

Lodging was one of the biggest expense categories for this trip so I chose to stay in hostels and Airbnb homes. I lodged at each about 50-50. What is extremely helpful is there are reviews online (airbnb.com and individual hostel websites) from previous guests. The reviews and ratings usually cover categories like: cleanliness, atmosphere, hospitality of the host/hostess, attractions near it, etc. During my planning process I didn't book anything lower then a 3.5 out of 5 star rating, and I usually stuck to a 4ish star rating.

From my 32 days of travel I discovered I prefer and enjoy Airbnb over hostels, but I am glad I tried hostels...It was an adventure in of itself!

Here are my pros and cons between the two lodging types. I hope this provides insight for your next travel adventure!

Hostels

Pros

a) Low cost

b) Meet lots of people from all over the world

c) Central to town/city, easy to get around on foot

Cons

a) Lodging with others in the same room (I experienced same gender and mixed)

b) Sometimes shared communal bathroom (I experienced same gender and mixed)

c) Not always clean

d) Scratchy bedding

e) Weak internet signal

Airbnb

Pros

a) Reasonable cost, can be very comparable to hostels

b) Intimate setting with host - getting to know them and great conversation

c) Breakfast is usually provided

d) Extra amenities available (washing, good internet, etc.)

e) Get the local insight and tips on what to do and see in the area, which is usually the best!

f) Private room and usually provided private bathroom

g) Can choose homes that are unique to the area you're visiting. Pictures below demonstrate this.

Cons

I can't think of general cons for Airbnb. My stay in London was awful, it was an apartment with several rooms available. It was surprisingly tiny with zero ventilation. Again, I highly recommend referring to guest ratings, they are your best help on deciding where to lodge at, whether it's a hostel or Airbnb in the area you're visiting.

Bergen, Norway Airbnb Athenry, Ireland Airbnb Chipping Camden (The Cotswolds), UK Airbnb

4. Food

Food is a necessary and costly expense to consider as a traveler. Things & food seemed to be

more expensive in Europe, and eating out as a tourist can be even more expensive. The luxury of cooking your own food is unlikely (sometimes an option in hostels) and grabbing what's easily accessible can happen a lot, unless there's some planning and preparation.

I found eating out was very pricey in the "touristy spots", so I worked it a bit, and made a plan that didn't take much preparation or thinki

ng. I knew in both Ireland and England I'd be driving a week in each country, so I bought grocery snacks/easily prepared food for the road. This limited and saved time stopping for food and saved money. Even when I wasn't "road tripping", but in towns/cities on foot I always had snacks on me.

I did have some "Treat Yo Self" times when I did eat out & splurge, since it was a rarer occasion. It made it all the more exciting and special. At those times I had dishes unique to the area I was in, which enhanced all the feels and experience. For example, in Bergen, Norway I had fresh fish 'n chips, which were absolutely delicious (pictured). On the coast in Dingle, Ireland I enjoyed yummy, fresh clam chowder, etc.

If you're looking to travel savvy on your vacation/adventure and need to accommodate family needs, do a bit of planning and you're good to save!

5. Pictures

Some of my favorites from each country!

IRELAND

SCOTLAND

NORWAY

ENGLAND

NETHERLANDS

GERMANY

AUSTRIA

ITALY

SWITZERLAND

FRANCE

6. Favorites

City: Edinburgh, Scotland

Countryside: Ireland

Town: Lucerne and Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

Most unique landscape: Train ride from Oslo to Bergen and the Fjords in Norway

Mountains: Switzerland Alps

Favorite activities:

  • Dingle Peninsula tour in Ireland

  • Walking along the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland

  • "Norway in a Nutshell" day tour

  • Stourhead Home & Gardens tour in England

  • Biking tour through Munich, Germany

  • Walking Amsterdam by day seeing flower markets, and getting delicious cheese, stroop waffles and tea.

It's a joy to share this with you! I hope my tips are helpful for your future trip!

Happy planning and traveling!

Xx

Courtney

All images © 2016 Courtney Robertson

bottom of page