top of page

How I Did Europe in 14 Days

I'm thrilled to share my 2018 European adventure with you!! Seeing, smelling, tasting, experiencing something different is liberating and refreshing to my soul. I traveled Iceland and Scotland about 7 days each, and it was absolutely incredible! I went on this adventure with my lady gang of 3; good friends and my sister-n-law. I highly suggest going with people you know well, and who you know is game to what you're wanting to do on an adventure or vacation. I'm quite spontaneous and I couldn't ask for a better group to do random, spur of the moments things! Below I have shared all the things! My itinerary, pictures, tips and must dos!

First up, Iceland! I spent 8 days here. It is one of the most unique, diverse, breath-taking places I've been to, and that says a lot since I've traveled over a dozen European countries!

My lady gang and I drove Ring Road, which covers a good portion of the island (refer to image below) and we crushed Iceland! If you want to "see" Iceland, go during May-Sept, due to great weather. In August when we went, It was anywhere from 45-65 degrees F, so pretty mild and pleasant! That being said there is SO much diversity in the landscape, geography, weather, etc. everywhere we went. A good portion of our drive were on F-Stop roads, which is dirt roads (off roading) and in the winter, most of these are not accessible. In addition, if you rent a car, most car rental companies have restrictions driving on F-Stop roads, so with snow, I'm sure it's a no-go. Tip, if you're wanting to drive Iceland, make sure to check if F stop roads are OK. I rented a car through Nordic Car Rental, and had a decent experience. Great car, chill about driving F Stop roads, close to KEF airport, decent price with full coverage insurance, (there customer service did lack though).

The only down side traveling Iceland during the summer is that the northern lights are very subtle/non-existent. I was sad I didn't see them much, besides one night slightly through the cloudy sky. If the No. Lights are a must for you, go to Iceland Sept-April, it's the best time for them!

Now, let's jump in with how I did Iceland in 8 days!

 

Iceland

My travel route at a glance

Iceland is a lot of waterfalls (hikes), walks in nature, hot springs, and driving. As you can observe some days were shorter driving days than others. There were a lot of highlights around the island, check below the day by day itinerary, what I loved and the lady gang + pictures!

Itinerary

Day 1

▲ Reykjavik

▲ Drove golden circle: Gullfoss Waterfall & Geysir

▲ Lodged in Hvolsvollur

Reykjavik - capital of Iceland. Hallgrimskirkja church is very cool to see that's in the heart of the city! We walked around it and inside. The unique column like structure is replica of the natural basalt columns found out in Iceland nature. Look through the pictures and you'll see the resemblance!

Golden Circle - is a must! Beautiful scenery as we drove to Gullfoss and Geysir!

Day 2

▲Explored Seljalandsfoss Waterfall

▲Hiked to Seljavallalaug Hot Spring pool (one of the oldest springs on the island)

▲Explored Skogafoss Waterfall

▲Lafskalavarda field

▲Walked Black Sand Beach

▲Drove through the Moss Field (Drive 45 mins east of Vik towards Fjadrargljufur Canyon. The moss goes on for MILES!)

▲Walked Fjadrargljufur Canyon

▲Lodged in Kalfafell

DO ALL THE THINGS! Serious. This day was BUSY physically (less driving, more walking), but, SO MUCH FUN!

Day 3

▲Hiked to the main Glacier in Skaftafell

▲Explored Sod Church and cemetery in Hof

▲Explored Glacier Bay and Diamond Beach near Jokulsarlon

▲Lodged in Djupivogur

Again, do all the things! Our coldest day, and it was still such a freaking blast! Diamond Beach was my favorite!

Day 4

▲Explored/walked Dettifoss (Niagara Falls of Iceland)

▲Soaked in Lake Myvatn Nature Baths (better than Blue Lagoon, and less $ too)

▲Ate dinner at Gumli Baer in Reykjahlid - had their lamb soup and it was incredible!

▲Explored Godafoss (majestic waterfall)

▲Lodged in Akureyri

I am a sucker for waterfalls, and these two were beyond incredible. Blew my mind!

Day 5

▲Explored Akureyri town

▲Explored an epic meadow on the way to Hofsos

▲Explored Hofsos town - Natural hexa stone columns on the coast

▲Swimming pool in Hofsos (didn't do this, planned to, but looks so fun! Right on the cliff edge looking at the ocean!)

▲Lodged in Sauðárkrókur Guesthouse

Akureyri is a very fun town! Regarding cities/towns, this was the biggest one since we were at Reykjavik. It was really fun to explore and check out the local shops! Plan on staying there for a day/night!

Day 6

▲ Explored more Sod/Turf houses!

▲ My lady gang experienced an entertaining Vikings history tour. (I was sooo tired, I took a nap in the car).

▲ Lots of driving!

▲ Lodged in Svarfhóll (Thorvaldur)

Vikings history tour is highly recommended, by the ladies! The turf/sod houses are a fun to see for a quick stop!

Day 7

▲Drove to and through the Snaefellsjokull National Park - explored all over, lots of stops with epic picture opts!

▲Kirkjufell Mountain (famous mountain in the peninsula - north side)

▲Lodged in Reykjavik

The drive around the peninsula was pure magic, especially in the rain! We enjoyed driving and exploring cool sights on foot plus more waterfalls. We were hoping to see puffins (common on this peninsula), but didn't. Driving this peninsula is a must!

Day 8

▲Explored Reykjavik: thrift shop, karaoke at Saeta Svinid Gastropub, Costco

▲Þingvellir National Park - this is where you walk between the Pacific and Atlantic continents. And where major historical events took place!

▲Visited extended family and had the best icelandic fish soup!

▲Lodged in Reykjavik

Thrifting was fun for cheap souvenirs. Costco was great to stock up on snacks and gasoline (so bring your card!). The karaoke was a freaking blast, THIS IS A MUST for a night out in Reykjavik if you like karaoke! And yes, visit Þingvellir, it's pretty cool!

 

Tips and tricks to make travel in Iceland cost efficient!

Everything is VERY expensive in Iceland. It's is at least 3-4 times more than the states. No exaggeration! Here's a few tips that can save you hundreds to thousands of dollars!

FLIGHTS

Flights from the states internationally are always best to buy in January of any year, due to stellar cheap pricing! I bought my round trip from Utah to Iceland (1 stop only, and evening/red eye flight) for $420 (that's w/ fees included). Now, talk about insane! I signed up via email for Pomelo Travel cheap flight notifications, so that's how I got it. With these notifications, you have to act fast, because once those tickets are sold, they're gone!

Also, with flights from the states to Europe I highly suggest red eyes (which are usually cheaper), because this helps to get on Europe time much easier and quicker! I left Utah at 3pm, stopped in Texas and took off at 8pm, then landed in Iceland at 8am. I got about 6-7 hours of sleep on the 10 hour flight! That being said, I had ear plugs, eye shades, really good pillow and super comfy clothes on (leggings, scarf, hoodie, and shoes). These things makes all the difference for getting better sleep on any flight.

Flights within Europe are usually the cheapest w/ Ryanair and WOW air. Service with Ryanair isn't awesome, but WOW air is better.

FOOD

My sister-n-law IS A GENIUS. She meal planned, and packed a duffle bag full of food = 50 lbs. This covered the snacks, and majority of meals in Iceland. We bought a few snacks and produce for our planned meals at grocery stores and Costco in Reykjavik (bring your Costco card!). We saved A LOT going the grocery store route and we ate like queens!!!...eating whole, nourishing, complete meals. It was incredible, and made all of us in the lady gang so happy! We rented a car, so bringing food from the states was super simple to move around. Also, we were concerned about bringing SO much food on the plane, but we got through just fine. We did check the bag of food, so I do suggest doing that and not as carryon (plus if it's checked you can bring more).

LODGING

Airbnb ALL THE WAY. Check out my 2016 European travel post HERE on this. I compare hostels to airbnb and list pros and cons. Always look at reviews, I have never gone wrong with staying at a place rated highly. Iceland had the cutest and quaint little tiny homes for lodging. I suggest choosing a few of these to stay in! You can see a few in the pictures section.

GASOLINE

In Iceland it was literally $120+ to fill up. I drove a small SUV. Having the lady gang (4 of us) spilt the price, made it affordable. Just keep this in mind if you're going with 1 other person. It is pricey! But again, Iceland is 200% WORTH IT!

CLOTHING

Always research weather the month you go! My number 1 tip for summer months in Iceland is, packing rain gear top to bottom (rain coat, pants, shoes)...If you want to adventure waterfalls and in the rainy weather, this is SO SO nice so stay dry.

 

Scotland

My travel route at a glance

Next up, Scotland, my motherland! This is my third time there, and it was just as magical as the first time. Spent some time in the capital, Edinburgh and then toured the Scottish Highlands! Obviously, that says it all, how much I'm into the country, haha! I really do love it. I have done Edinburgh 3 times, and have driven to Glen Isla (a little north of the city to see an ancestral home my first time in 1999.)

This time around I wanted to see more of Scotland. I planned 2 days in the city and then a 3 day Highlands tour (for detailed info go HERE). I loved the mix of it, and the Scottish Highlands are incredibly beautiful! I want to take a 4th trip back and rent a car and spend time on the Isle of Skye (the most northern point on the tour - see map above). It was my all time favorite of those 3 days! The town Portree on the Isle is so charming. I also look forward to hike Old Man Storr (a highly recommended hike on Isle of Skye).

Itinerary

Day 9

▲Edinburgh (check below for must dos)

Day 10

  • Drove to and through Glasgow

  • Loch Lomond

  • Walked a little of the Glencoe valley, site of the 1692 massacre of the MacDonald Clan.

  • Fort William area, we paused for photos at Britain’s highest mountain, Ben Nevis, then stop to admire Glen Garry and the stunning Five Sisters of Kintail mountain range.

  • Lodged at Portree, on the Isle of Skye

Day 11

▲Highlands tour

  • Explored Isle of Skye

Day 12

▲Highlands tour

  • Eilean Donan Castle (in the movie, ‘Highlander’)

  • Fort Augustus (pretty loch-side village) and Loch Ness boat tour

  • Victorian resort town of Pitlochry

Day 13

▲Edinburgh (check below for must dos)

Day 14

▲Travel to Iceland

Edinburgh

EDINBURGH must dos ( * what I have done & recommend)

  • Castle Tour*

  • Princes Street Gardens park*

  • The Royal Mile* (Old town - walking and shopping)

  • The Elephant House cafe* (where JK Rowling wrote part of Harry Potter 1)

  • St. Giles' Cathedral* (in old town on the Royal Mile)

  • Harry Potter city tour* (free, but tip tour guide)

  • Hike Arthur’s seat* (inactive volcano mountain)

  • Walk around New Town*

  • National Museum of Scotland*

  • Mary’s Close (underground city tour). This was sold out for several days, and didn't get a chance to tour it. My friend highly recommended this. Check it out HERE

  • Palace of Holyroodhouse. This is where the queen of England stays when she's in Edinburgh. I didn't get a chance to tour the inside (saw it froms the gates), but have heard good things, and I love a good British situation!

Another thing - I've been to Edinburgh 3 times, and 2 out of the 3 I've hit it at the time of the Fringe Festival...It's one of the biggest art festivals in the world and it's the entire month of August. IT IS AMAZING and so fun to experience. I didn't go to any schedule shows, but just seeing a variety of performers on the Royal Mile was a blast! If you do go to Edinburgh in your lifetime, hit it in the month of August!!

The Scottish Highlands

This adventure trip was an absolute dream! Iceland is unbelievable and majestical and Scotland is gorgeous and lovely! If you have any questions, let me know!

Also, in 2016 I traveled Europe for a month and shared all the things on that adventure. You can find it HERE

Happy traveling!

x

Courtney

bottom of page